Real Estate

Services for Real Estate Companies

Audit

  • Audit, Review, and Compilation of Financial Statements
  • Employee Benefit Plan (401k) Audits

Tax

Business Advisory

How We Can Assist with Current Real Estate Accounting & Tax Issues

Cost Management for Internal Financial Functions

Supplier billing, month-end closings, and reports for lenders can place burdens on your existing finance and accounting staff and impede the cash flow of your practice.

How to prepare: Briggs & Veselka’s Outsourced Accounting Services gives you budget flexibility and control when you require interim support of full back office accounting functions. Contact Terry Sherrill at tsherrill@bvccpa.com for more details.

New Lease Accounting Regulations

These new accounting rules could have impact on bank loan covenants for your tenants, as they might change the borrowing base for many loans essential to operations.

How to prepare: Briggs & Veselka is already working with leaseholders, their clients, and banks to advise them on the possible implications of these new accounting regulations, to help them prepare possible revisions to existing covenants, and as guidance for future loan agreements. For more information, contact Adam Dimmick at adimmick@bvccpa.com.

Cost Segregation Studies

Such studies can impact the tax burden of projects through accelerated depreciation and write-offs of certain aspects of your assets.

How to Prepare: Our Real Estate professionals can show you redacted examples of such studies and the immediate tax benefit and cash flow improvements resulting from such studies. To see examples, contact Xin Xin at xxin@bvccpa.com.

Tangible Property Regulation Changes

The final tangible property regulations apply to anyone who pays to acquire, produce, or improve tangible, real, or personal property. For tax years after January 1, 2016, the IRS has made modifications to the safe harbor thresholds.

How to prepare: Briggs & Veselka tax professionals can provide a no-cost analysis of your tangible property deductions and compare them to the new allowances to provide a better understanding of the implication of these regulations. For more information, contact Xin Xin at xxin@bvccpa.com.

Client Testimonial

Other firms may be technically qualified to do the work, but I need them to make the process easy. The turnaround with Briggs & Veselka is always very efficient, even if we don’t need it urgently. We both know what needs to be done and that’s a very important reason why I choose them.

 

— Bert Rosenbaum, Vice President
Prime Capital Corporation, client since the early 1990s

Adam_Dimmick

Adam Dimmick


Audit Shareholder, CPA, CGMA
adimmick@bvccpa.com
713-353-1954
BIO VCARDLINKEDIN
XIN_XIN

Xin Xin

Tax Shareholder, CPA
xxin@bvccpa.com
713-366-8501
BIO VCARDLINKEDIN
David_Phelps

David Phelps

Business Advisory Shareholder, CPA
dphelps@bvccpa.com
713-353-1941

BIO VCARDLINKEDIN

Who We Serve:

  • Commercial development companies
  • Residential development companies
  • Multi-family development companies
  • Commercial management companies
  • Investors
  • Brokers and agents
  • Attorneys
  • Homeowner’s associations
  • Insurance providers
Find All Real Estate Services Professionals
    Adam Dimmick Audit Shareholder, CPA, CGMA adimmick@bvccpa.com 713-353-1954 EDUCATION B.S. from the University of Redlands in Redlands, California CERTIFICATIONS Certified ...
    Read More
    Bill LoveTax Shareholder, CPA, ABV, CFF blove@bvccpa.com 512-346-0908 EDUCATION B.B.A. in Accounting from the University of Texas in Austin, Texas CERTIFICATIONS Certified Public ...
    Read More
    Bill Penczak Managing Director, Practice Development bpenczak@bvccpa.com 713-353-1918 EDUCATION University of Texas B.S. in Advertising; graduated with Honors AAAA Executive Leadership ...
    Read More
    Bob McDonaldTax Shareholder, CPA bmcdonald@bvccpa.com 713-353-1905 EDUCATION B.B.A. in Accounting from the University of Houston CERTIFICATIONS Certified Public Accountant – ...
    Read More
    Brian Jordan Tax Director, CPA, CFE bjordan@bvccpa.com 713-353-1980 EDUCATION University of Alabama B.S.B.A. University of Houston - Clear Lake M.B.A ...
    Read More
    Crystal Gates Tax Shareholder, CPA cgates@bvccpa.com 713-353-1955 EDUCATION University of Colorado BSBA in Accounting University of Denver Masters of Taxation CERTIFICATIONS ...
    Read More
    David Phelps Business Advisory Shareholder, CPA dphelps@bvccpa.com 713-353-1941 EDUCATION B.S. in Accounting from the University of Houston CERTIFICATIONS Certified Public ...
    Read More
    Forest Xu Tax Shareholder, CPA fxu@bvccpa.com 713-366-8529 EDUCATION Miami University of Ohio Master in Accountancy CERTIFICATIONS Certified Public Accountant – ...
    Read More
    Gary TrochtaCPA, Tax Shareholdergtrochta@bvccpa.com979-543-1040 EDUCATION Texas State University B.A. in Accounting Graduated with Honors CERTIFICATIONS Certified Public Accountant – Texas ...
    Read More
    Hernie Antonio Audit Director, CPA hantonio@bvccpa.com 713-366-8530 EDUCATION University of the East, Manila, Phillippines CERTIFICATIONS Certified Public Accountant – Texas ...
    Read More
    Jason Sanders Tax Department Chair, CPA jsanders@bvccpa.com 713-667-9147 EDUCATION B.S in Accounting from Nicholls State University in Thibodaux, Louisiana CERTIFICATIONS Certified ...
    Read More
    Jeff Mealer State & Local Tax Manager, CPA, JD jmealer@bvccpa.com 713-366-8511 EDUCATION JD from Texas Tech University MBA in Accounting ...
    Read More
    Joe Alcorta Audit Principal, CPA jalcorta@bvccpa.com 713-353-1978 EDUCATION University of Houston B.S. in Accounting CERTIFICATIONS Certified Public Accountant – Texas ...
    Read More
    John CooneyState & Local Tax Shareholder, CPA jcooney@bvccpa.com 713-353-1903 EDUCATION B.B.A. in Accounting from Texas Tech University CERTIFICATIONS Certified Public ...
    Read More
    Julia Suchman Tax Director, CPA jsuchman@bvccpa.com 832-463-4089 EDUCATION Texas A&M University B.B.A. in Accounting CERTIFICATIONS Certified Public Accountant – Texas ...
    Read More
    Kerry KilgoreAudit Shareholder, CPAkkilgore@bvccpa.com713-366-8523 EDUCATION Abilene Christian University Masters of Accountancy CERTIFICATIONS Certified Public Accountant – Texas INDUSTRIES Energy Healthcare ...
    Read More
    Lesley Sciortino Audit Shareholder, CPA lsciortino@bvccpa.com 713-353-1994 EDUCATION University of Houston BBA in Accounting & Finance University of Houston - ...
    Read More
    Lynell LillyTax Shareholder, CPA llilly@bvccpa.com 713-353-1999 EDUCATION B.S. in Accounting from Houston Baptist University CERTIFICATIONS Certified Public Accountant – Texas ...
    Read More
    Mark SchaafTax & Valuation Shareholdermschaaf@bvccpa.com 713-353-1922 EDUCATION Ball State University B.S. in Accounting CERTIFICATIONS Certified Public Accountant – Texas Certified ...
    Read More
    Rick WesterfieldTax Shareholder, CPA rwesterfield@bvccpa.com 832-463-4116 EDUCATION Baylor University CERTIFICATIONS Certified Public Accountant – Texas INDUSTRIES Agriculture Energy Financial Institutions ...
    Read More
    R. Scott Robertson Tax Shareholder, CPA srobertson@bvccpa.com 713-353-1947 EDUCATION Mount Allison University Bachelor of Commerce in Accounting Canisius College Masters in ...
    Read More
    Sonny Brandtner Risk Senior Director, CPA, CFE sbrandtner@bvccpa.com 281-917-7541 EDUCATION B.B.A in Accounting from University of Texas - Austin CERTIFICATIONS ...
    Read More
    Terry Sherrill Business Advisory Shareholder, CPA tsherrill@bvccpa.com 713-353-1998 EDUCATION B.B.A. in Accounting from the University of Houston CERTIFICATIONS Certified Public Accountant ...
    Read More
    Xin Xin Tax Shareholder, CPA xxin@bvccpa.com 713-366-8501 EDUCATION Texas A&M University Beijing Medical University CERTIFICATIONS Certified Public Accountant – Texas ...
    Read More