Professional Services

Services for Professional Services Companies

Audit & Attestation

  • Audit, Review and Compilation of Financial Statements
  • Employee Benefit Plan (401k) Audits

Tax Planning & Preparation

  •  Federal/State Tax Planning and Compliance for Corporations and Partnerships
  • Entity Structure Analysis
  • Individual Tax Planning & Compliance
  • Gift & Estate Planning
  • State and Local Tax (SALT) 

Business Advisory

Forensic Accounting

  • Accounting Controversy Matters
  • Expert Testimony

How We Can Assist with Current Professional Services Accounting & Tax Issues

Acquisition & Divestiture

Aging baby boomers who are shareholders in professional services firms are more frequently contemplating A&D activities, which can be time consuming, expensive, and a distraction from serving your own clients.

How to prepare: From valuations to tax planning and operational improvement, Briggs & Veselka Acquisition & Divestiture professionals bring industry and transaction knowledge to mergers or acquisitions in professional services, either from a buyer or seller standpoint. For more information, contact Jason Sharp at jsharp@bvccpa.com.

Cost Management for Internal Financial Functions

Billing, month-end closings, and reports for lenders can place burdens on your existing finance and accounting staff and impede the cash flow of your operations.

How to prepare: Briggs & Veselka’s Outsourced Accounting Services provides budget flexibility and control when you require interim support of full back office accounting functions. For more information, contact Terry Sherrill at tsherrill@bvccpa.com.

Accounting Controversy

When accounting firms are involved with lawsuits, they often require independent expert investigation and oftentimes, testimony of findings.

How to prepare: Our professionals have a unique combination of skills:  decades of peer review experience; SEC registrant experience; testifying experience; and a focus on the middle market.  This combination can be effective and credibility in firm defense work related to accounting lawsuits. For more information, contact Sheila Enriquez at senriquez@bvccpa.com.

Employee Benefit Plan Compliance

The Department of Labor (DOL) requires many defined benefit plans to have an annual audit, which can be time consuming and costly, even for a plan with fewer than 1000 employees.

How to Prepare: Briggs & Veselka’s Employee Benefit Plan Audit group is in the top 1% of all accounting firms in terms of the number of plans audited; we are recognized as thought leaders in the area and offer reasonable rate structure uniquely suited for middle market professional services firms. For more information, contact Meresa Morgan at mmorgan@bvccpa.com mmorgan@bvccpa.com.

Organizations We Serve

  • Law Firms and Their Partners
  • Medical Practices and Physicians
  • Engineering Companies
  • Architectural Firms and Their Partners
  • Title Companies
  • Employee Benefit Consulting Firms
  • Financial Planning Service Providers
  • Other CPA firms
  • Professional Service Recruiting Firms
Sheila_Enriquez

Sheila Enriquez

Managing Shareholder
senriquez@bvccpa.com
713-667-9147
BIO VCARDLINKEDIN

Laura_Freudenberger

Laura Freudenberger

Audit Shareholder, CPA lfreudenberger@bvccpa.com 713-353-1916

BIO VCARDLINKEDIN
Kevin_Lovins

Kevin Lovins

Tax Shareholder, CPA 
klovins@bvccpa.com
713-353-1914
BIO VCARDLINKEDIN

Terry_Sherrill

Terry Sherrill

Business Advisory Shareholder, CPA
tsherrill@bvccpa.com
713-353-1998
BIO VCARDLINKEDIN

Fast Facts

  • The firm serves a variety of professional organizations from AMLAW 100 firms to major medical practices in Texas with a variety of outsourced or co-sourced services
  • Especially attuned to the interaction between corporate and personal tax planning and compliance unique to most professional service firms
  • The fact we are hired by other accounting firms speaks to the integrity of our people and our work product
  • Our active peer review process within the accounting industry demonstrates a high level of knowledge and respect among our professional services peers
Find All Professional Services Professionals
    Adam Dimmick Audit Shareholder, CPA, CGMA adimmick@bvccpa.com 713-353-1954 EDUCATION B.S. from the University of Redlands in Redlands, California CERTIFICATIONS Certified ...
    Read More
    Angie Armstrong Tax Director, CPA aarmstrong@bvccpa.com 713-353-1987 EDUCATION Kansas State University B.A. in Accounting Magna Cum Laude University of Houston ...
    Read More
    Bill LoveTax Shareholder, CPA, ABV, CFF blove@bvccpa.com 512-346-0908 EDUCATION B.B.A. in Accounting from the University of Texas in Austin, Texas CERTIFICATIONS Certified Public ...
    Read More
    Bill Penczak Managing Director, Practice Development bpenczak@bvccpa.com 713-353-1918 EDUCATION University of Texas B.S. in Advertising; graduated with Honors AAAA Executive Leadership ...
    Read More
    Bob McDonaldTax Shareholder, CPA bmcdonald@bvccpa.com 713-353-1905 EDUCATION B.B.A. in Accounting from the University of Houston CERTIFICATIONS Certified Public Accountant – ...
    Read More
    Brian Jordan Tax Director, CPA, CFE bjordan@bvccpa.com 713-353-1980 EDUCATION University of Alabama B.S.B.A. University of Houston - Clear Lake M.B.A ...
    Read More
    Crystal Gates Tax Shareholder, CPA cgates@bvccpa.com 713-353-1955 EDUCATION University of Colorado BSBA in Accounting University of Denver Masters of Taxation CERTIFICATIONS ...
    Read More
    David Phelps Business Advisory Shareholder, CPA dphelps@bvccpa.com 713-353-1941 EDUCATION B.S. in Accounting from the University of Houston CERTIFICATIONS Certified Public ...
    Read More
    Forest Xu Tax Shareholder, CPA fxu@bvccpa.com 713-366-8529 EDUCATION Miami University of Ohio Master in Accountancy CERTIFICATIONS Certified Public Accountant – ...
    Read More
    Hernie Antonio Audit Director, CPA hantonio@bvccpa.com 713-366-8530 EDUCATION University of the East, Manila, Phillippines CERTIFICATIONS Certified Public Accountant – Texas ...
    Read More
    Jason Sanders Tax Department Chair, CPA jsanders@bvccpa.com 713-667-9147 EDUCATION B.S in Accounting from Nicholls State University in Thibodaux, Louisiana CERTIFICATIONS Certified ...
    Read More
    Jason Sharp Tax Shareholder, CPA, JD, LLM jsharp@bvccpa.com 713-366-8562 EDUCATION B.B.A. in Accounting from the University of Houston Juris Doctorate ...
    Read More
    Jeff Mealer State & Local Tax Manager, CPA, JD jmealer@bvccpa.com 713-366-8511 EDUCATION JD from Texas Tech University MBA in Accounting ...
    Read More
    Joe Alcorta Audit Principal, CPA jalcorta@bvccpa.com 713-353-1978 EDUCATION University of Houston B.S. in Accounting CERTIFICATIONS Certified Public Accountant – Texas ...
    Read More
    John CooneyState & Local Tax Shareholder, CPA jcooney@bvccpa.com 713-353-1903 EDUCATION B.B.A. in Accounting from Texas Tech University CERTIFICATIONS Certified Public ...
    Read More
    John FlatowiczAudit Shareholder, CPAjflatowicz@bvccpa.com713-667-9147 EDUCATION University of Nebraska B.S. in Accounting The University of Texas Master in Professional Accounting CERTIFICATIONS ...
    Read More
    Julia Suchman Tax Director, CPA jsuchman@bvccpa.com 832-463-4089 EDUCATION Texas A&M University B.B.A. in Accounting CERTIFICATIONS Certified Public Accountant – Texas ...
    Read More
    Kevin LovinsTax Shareholder, CPA klovins@bvccpa.com 713-353-1914 EDUCATION B.B.A. in Accounting from the University of Texas Arlington, Texas CERTIFICATIONS Certified Public ...
    Read More
    Laura Freudenberger Audit Shareholder, CPA lfreudenberger@bvccpa.com 713-353-1916 EDUCATION B.S.B.A. from Ohio State University M.B.A. from the University of New Orleans ...
    Read More
    Lynell LillyTax Shareholder, CPA llilly@bvccpa.com 713-353-1999 EDUCATION B.S. in Accounting from Houston Baptist University CERTIFICATIONS Certified Public Accountant – Texas ...
    Read More
    Marilyn FowlerTax Director, CPA mfowler@bvccpa.com 713-353-1908 EDUCATION University of Houston M.S. in Accountancy CERTIFICATIONS Certified Public Accountant – Texas INDUSTRIES ...
    Read More
    Mark SchaafTax & Valuation Shareholdermschaaf@bvccpa.com 713-353-1922 EDUCATION Ball State University B.S. in Accounting CERTIFICATIONS Certified Public Accountant – Texas Certified ...
    Read More
    Meresa Morgan ERISA Practice & Audit Department Chair, CPA mmorgan@bvccpa.com 713-353-1921 EDUCATION B.S.B.A. in Accounting from Auburn University CERTIFICATIONS Certified ...
    Read More
    Rick WesterfieldTax Shareholder, CPA rwesterfield@bvccpa.com 832-463-4116 EDUCATION Baylor University CERTIFICATIONS Certified Public Accountant – Texas INDUSTRIES Agriculture Energy Financial Institutions ...
    Read More
    R. Scott Robertson Tax Shareholder, CPA srobertson@bvccpa.com 713-353-1947 EDUCATION Mount Allison University Bachelor of Commerce in Accounting Canisius College Masters in ...
    Read More
    Sheila EnriquezManaging Shareholdersenriquez@bvccpa.com713-667-9147 EDUCATION B.S. in Public Accounting, summa cum laude, from Mercy College M.B.A. at Long Island University, with ...
    Read More
    Steve AwaltTax Shareholder, CPA sawalt@bvccpa.com 713-667-9147 EDUCATION B.B.A. in Accounting from Sam Houston State University, graduating Summa Cum Laude CERTIFICATIONS ...
    Read More
    Terry Sherrill Business Advisory Shareholder, CPA tsherrill@bvccpa.com 713-353-1998 EDUCATION B.B.A. in Accounting from the University of Houston CERTIFICATIONS Certified Public Accountant ...
    Read More
    Virginia PlattsTax Director, CPA, JD, LLM vplatts@bvccpa.com 713-667-9147 ext. 1959 EDUCATION Purdue University B.S. in General Management Accounting Finance University ...
    Read More
    Xin Xin Tax Shareholder, CPA xxin@bvccpa.com 713-366-8501 EDUCATION Texas A&M University Beijing Medical University CERTIFICATIONS Certified Public Accountant – Texas ...
    Read More